

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE October 2, 2024

OCSA Announces Inaugural Hall of Fame Class

The Ohio Collegiate Soccer Association (OCSA) is thrilled to announce its very first Hall of Fame class, celebrating the exceptional contributions and achievements of individuals who have made a lasting impact on the sport of soccer in Ohio.

This prestigious honor recognizes coaches who have demonstrated outstanding dedication, leadership, and excellence in the realm of collegiate soccer. The inaugural class includes a diverse group of individuals whose remarkable careers and legacies continue to inspire future generations.











Meridy Glenn

Bud Lewis

Gail Murphy

Stu Parry Cliff Stevenson

Meridy Glenn; The trail blazing coach led the University of Cincinnati women's soccer program for 25 seasons accumulating 255 wins from 1983-2007. She is one of the most successful female coaches in the NCAA highlighted by 6 NCAA tournament berths, 3 conference championships and 5 conference tournament championships. In addition to her Hall of Fame induction, Glenn received the OCSA Honor Award in 2017.

Bud Lewis; The distinguished coach lead the Wilmington College men's soccer program for 43 seasons amassing 506 wins from 1975-2107. He is one of the most successful coaches in all of NCAA DIII highlighted by 5 NCAA tournament berths navigating his team to 3 Regional Semi-Finals and 8 conference championships. One of the founders of the OCSA he continues to serve on the Executive Council and has received the OCSA Honor Award.

Jay Martin; The legendary coach has led the Ohio Wesleyan men's soccer program for 46 seasons entering his final season with the most wins of any college soccer coach regardless of division with 762 wins. He has won two national titles and has appeared in the national semi-finals 9 times in addition to 26 league championships. His 44 play-off appearances are a national record. A past president of the National Soccer Coaches Association, he has served a variety of roles in the OCSA and has received the OCSA Honor Award.

Gail Murphy; The acclaimed coach led the Denison University women's soccer program for 26 years amassing 317 wins since 1997. She led her teams to 15 NCAA Division III appearances, 8 conference championships and 4 conference tournament championships. For her career she had 350 wins and a .663 winning percentage. She has served on the executive council of the OCSA and earned the Honor Award in 2018.

Stu Perry; The renowned coach founded the University of Akron soccer program in 1954. Beginning intercollegiate play in 1955, Perry earned 118 wins in his 15 years in charge of the program winning 9 Ohio Collegiate Soccer Association titles including 6 NCAA tournament bids. He is considered one of the founders of the OCSA and served as President of the National Soccer Coaches Association. The OCSA team of the year is named in his honor.

Cliff Stevenson; The coaching pioneer began his distinguished career leading the Oberlin College men's soccer program for 8 season winning 48 games with three undefeated seasons and 4 Midwestern championships. In 1960 he moved onto Brown University where in his 31 seasons he won 251 games and 15 league championships. Stevenson's vision led to the creation of the Ohio Collegiate Soccer Association.

The Ohio Collegiate Soccer Association is one of the oldest and most prestigious college soccer associations in the nation having been established in 1953. The OCSA represents all National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) divisions, all National Association of Intercollegiate (NAIA) divisions and all National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) divisions in the state of Ohio.